Skip to content

Lusting over: Office spaces

05/08/2011

For the past year or so, any work I’ve done has always been in our little living room – on the sofa or on a cushion on the floor getting pins and needles in my feet. Everything I needed was always in different rooms in the house, so I spent most of my time running up and down the stairs.

To really make a go of made different, I really needed a space to work in. At the bottom of our kitchen we had some space that was really, just gathering dust. We used it to store bikes, recycling and general other junky stuff. The idea to clear everything out came just before we went away on holiday, so for about two weeks I was excited about what I could do with the space. I wanted my studio to have a bit of a collector’s feel to it – lots of glass bottles, tins to store pencils, one of those old vintage style crates to display all my crafty bits and a big inspiration wall with swatches of fabric and photographs pegged or pinned up.

When I came back I spent the weekend or any spare time I had looking around the internet for inspiration. Above are some images that I’ve been lusting over.

I’m half set up at the moment. All my stuff has been moved in but I still need to get a few more things, like some storage for my fabric and wool and a desk lamp. Once it’s all complete, I’ll upload some photos. It’s amazing though, how having your own space can make you more motivated and give you that extra bit of get go. And the upside to being so close to the kitchen, is that tea and Jaffa Cakes are always at hand! Hooray!

Images clockwise: Pegs (Pugly Pixel’s studio) – found via oh, hello friend  // Milk bottle – Three Potato Four // I heart pencils – OneFineDae // Collections – (Valdirose’s studio) – found via oh, hello friend  // Colourful garlands – Weekday Carnival  // Cushions – Cabbages & Roses // Button Packaging – Merchant & Mills // Crate display – Styling by Marie Nichols //

For more office inspiration, check out my Pinterest page.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/08/2011 2:02 pm

    i love this post! also it has given me inspiration for what to put in my new room too!! i love the washing line and pegs… polly xxx

  2. 25/08/2011 8:39 am

    Hey Polly. Thanks for your comment. I’m so pleased that you found some inspiration here for your new room. Do you have a particular colour scheme in mind? For more inspiration, check out Pinterest – there’s loads of cool stuff on there.

    http://pinterest.com/

  3. 06/09/2011 5:32 pm

    i dont have a colour scheme… but all my furniture is dark wood (it came with the room) so i am trying to find ways to brighten it up… thanks for the link, that looks like a cool site x

Leave a Reply

